AWGIE Awards 2019: winners

Wins for Jack Irish, The Cry, Neighbours & Upright plus a Comedy honour for Magda Szubanski.

Jack Irish, The Cry, Neighbours and Upright were amongst winners at the 52nd Annual AWGIE Awards last night a the City Recital Hall in Sydney.

The Major Award went to Kate Mulvany for her stage play The Harp in the South, while Tony McNamara with Deborah Davis took out the Original Film award for The Favourite.

Magda Szubanski was recognised for her Outstanding Contribution to Australian Comedy.

“The breadth of our nominees and winners is tremendous,” said AWG CEO Jacqueline Elaine. “Last year a seven-minute dialogue-free animation took out our top award, and this year the extraordinary effort behind a six-hour stage adaptation. What a delightful example of the diversity and range characteristic of Australia’s screen and stage writers.”

TV and related categories (winners in bold):

Television – Series or Miniseries of More Than 4 Hours Duration, Including Original and Adapted Works
Bloom: ‘The Mystery Box’ – Glen Dolman
Jack Irish: Season 2, Episode 1 – Andrew Knight
Secret City: Under the Eagle: ‘Run Little Rabbit’ – Matt Cameron
The End: ‘Toxic Shock Syndrome’ – Samantha Strauss

Television – Telemovie or Miniseries of 4 Hours or Less Duration, Including Original and Adapted Works
Lambs of God – Sarah Lambert
On the Ropes – Tamara Asmar, Adam Todd and Ian Meadows
The Cry – Jacquelin Perske

Television – Serial
Home and Away: Episode 7073 – Margaret Wilson
Neighbours: Episode 8052 – Jason Herbison
The Heights: Episode 26 – Hannah Carroll Chapman

Comedy – Situation or Narrative
Rosehaven: Season 3, Episode 4 – Luke McGregor and Celia Pacquola
Rosehaven: Season 3, Episode 5 – Luke McGregor and Celia Pacquola
The Family Law: ‘Number One Gay Son’ – Benjamin Law and Kirsty Fisher
Upright: ‘Day Six’ – Leon Ford
Upright: ‘Day Eight’ – Tim Minchin

Comedy – Sketch or Light Entertainment
Orange is the New Brown: Episode 1 – Joel Slack-Smith and Heidi Regan with Nazeem Hussain, Richard Thorp, Penny Greenhalgh and Sophie Braham
The Weekly with Charlie Pickering: ‘TV Bingo’ and ‘Libspill 2’ – Gerard McCulloch, Charlie Pickering, Kynan Barker, Chris Kennett, Adam Richard with Justin Kennedy and Eleanor Robertson

Children’s Television – ‘C’ Classification (Children’s – 5–14 Years), Original or Adapted, Animated or Performed
Hardball: ‘Across the Ditch’ – Guy Edmonds and Matt Zeremes
Mustangs FC: ‘Pity Party’ – Alix Beane
The Deep: ‘Purple Tide’ – Cleon Prineas

Beat Bugs: ‘Lady Madonna’ – Kate Mulvany
Beat Bugs: ‘You Won’t See Me’ – Thomas Duncan-Watt
Berry Bees: ‘Hypnotic Hair, Don’t Care’ – Joel Slack-Smith
Monstrous: ‘Pier Pressure’ – Bruce Griffiths with Jasper St Aubyn West
Spongo, Fuzz & Jalapeña: ‘The Gasman Cometh’ – Simon Dodd

Documentary – Public Broadcast (Including VOD) or Exhibition
Ghosthunter – Ben Lawrence
The Art of the Game – Matthew Bate
The Pacific: In the Wake of Captain Cook with Sam Neill: ‘Endeavour and Tahiti’ – Sally Aitken with Owen Hughes, Meaghan Wilson-Anastasios, David Alrich and Sam Neill

Richard Lane Award For Outstanding Service and Dedication to the Australian Writers’ Guild
Jan Sardi

Dorothy Crawford Award For Outstanding Contribution to the Profession and the Industry
Mac Gudgeon

Fred Parsons Award For Outstanding Contribution to Australian Comedy
Magda Szubanski

Australian Writers’ Guild Life Membership
Patrick Edgeworth

Leave a Reply