Equity Ensemble Awards 2024: winners

Bump, Deadloch, Safe Home are honoured by MEAA peers with Bruce Spence receiving a Lifetime Achievement Award.

The 13th annual Equity Ensemble Awards, hosted by the Media, Entertainment & Arts Alliance’s Equity Foundation, were held at the Sydney Theatre Company last night.

More 250 industry people attended the event with finalists and winners chosen by industry judging panels from 38 eligible Australian productions aired in 2023.

Winners in Bold followed by Finalists.

Equity Lifetime Achievement Award 2024
Bruce Spence

Bruce Spence was selected from an impressive field of nominees by the National Performers’ Committee, who praised Bruce for his immense contribution to Australia’s cultural landscape, being a vocal and constant activist for actors’ rights and dedicating countless hours to fundraising and assisting those experiencing hardship.

Among those who paid tribute to Bruce were Sydney Theatre Company Artistic Director Kip Williams, Director George Miller and actors Helen Thomson, Jacki Weaver, Colin Friels and Philip Quast.

Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble in a Drama Series
Bump S4 (Stan/Roadshow Rough Diamond) Safia Arain, Christian Byers, Ava Cannon, Paula Garcia, Claudia Karvan, Nathalie Morris, Angus Sampson, Carlos Sanson Jr, Ioane Saula.

Totally Completely Fine S1 (Stan)
The Artful Dodger S1 (Disney Plus)

The judges said: “Inspired casting creates a dynamic, multi-generational, and culturally diverse ensemble that excels in storytelling. Their uniformly excellent performances enable complex, surprising, and subtle character development as their lives unfold and connect. The rich chemistry among the cast provides a shared universal thread, making this Australian drama a pure delight and deeply satisfying.”

Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble in a Comedy Series
Deadloch S1 (Prime Video/Guesswork Television) Holly Austin, Tom Ballard, Kate Box, Duncan Fellows, Alicia Gardiner, Shaun Martindale, Kartanya Maynard, Kris McQuade, Mia Morrissey, Naarah, Nina Oyama, Pamela Rabe, Katie Robertson, Madeleine Sami, Nick Simpson-Deeks, Leonie Whyman, Susie Youssef, Harvey Zielinski
Class of 07 S1 (Prime Video)
Utopia S5 (ABC TV)

The judges said: “The cast of Deadloch manage to seamlessly blend the suspense and darkness of a crime mystery with the charm, humour and tomfoolery of a good comedy. Together their performances drive the storyline forward with both subtle and laugh out loud moments that effectively balance the darker themes. The Deadloch cast provides a fresh and multifaceted experience, keeping the viewer engaged and entertained.”

Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble in a Mini-Series/Telemovie
Safe Home (SBS/Kindling Pictures) Thomas Cocquerel, Hal Cumpston, Aisha Dee, Chenoa Deemal, Virginia Gay, Mabel Li, Antonia Prebble and Katlyn Wong.
One Night (Paramount +)
Scrublands (Stan)

The judges said: “The layered and impressive performances in Safe Home led to very powerful storytelling. The issue of family violence is handled with nuance and care by all involved in this production including the wonderful and talented ensemble.”

Leave a Reply