WGA Awards 2009 / AFI Most Outstanding

Mad Men, 30 Rock & The Office head up the US Writer's Guild nominees while the American Film Institute has also announced its Most Oustanding of 2009.

mad-menAwards season is certainly hotting up in the US.

The Writer’s Guild of America has announced the best of the bunch in television writing for 2009.

Mad Men, 30 Rock and The Office are multiple nominees while Modern Family and Glee are both up for Comedy and New Series awards.

Amongst the other New Series contenders are Nurse Jackie, Hung and The Good Wife –totalling four of five shows to air in Australia on TEN.

In Animation it is a five horse race between writers of The Simpsons.

Amongst the television nominees are:

Breaking Bad – Written by Sam Catlin, Vince Gilligan, Peter Gould, George Mastras, J. Roberts, John Shiban, Moira Walley-Beckett; AMC
Dexter – Written by Scott Buck, Charles H. Eglee, Lauren Gussis, Clyde Phillips, Melissa Rosenberg – Wendy West; Showtime
Friday Night Lights – Written by Bridget Carpenter, Kerry Ehrin, Ron Fitzgerald, Brent Fletcher, Etan Frankel, Jason Gavin, Elizabeth Heldens, David Hudgins, Rolin Jones, Jason Katims, Patrick Massett, Derek Santos Olson, John Zinman; NBC
Lost – Written by Carlton Cuse, Adam Horowitz, Edward Kitsis, Melinda Hsu Taylor, Damon Lindelof, Greggory Nations, Kyle Pennington, Elizabeth Sarnoff, Brian K. Vaughan, Paul Zbyszewski; ABC
Mad Men – Written by Lisa Albert, Andrew Colville, Cathryn Humphris, Andre Jacquemetton, Maria Jacquemetton, Brett Johnson, Erin Levy, Marti Noxon, Frank Pierson, Robin Veith, Dahvi Waller, Matthew Weiner; AMC

30 Rock – Written by Jack Burditt, Kay Cannon, Robert Carlock, Tom Ceraulo, Vali Chandrasekaran, Tina Fey, Donald Glover, Steve Hely, Matt Hubbard, Dylan Morgan, Paula Pell, Jon Pollack, John Riggi, Tami Sagher, Josh Siegal, Ron Weiner, Tracey Wigfield; NBC
Curb Your Enthusiasm – Written by Larry David; HBO
Glee – Written by Ian Brennan, Brad Falchuk, Ryan Murphy; Fox
Modern Family – Written by Paul Corrigan, Sameer Gardezi, Joe Lawson, Steven Levitan, Christopher Lloyd, Dan O’Shannon, Brad Walsh, Caroline Williams, Bill Wrubel, Danny Zuker; ABC
The Office – Written by Jennifer Celotta, Danny Chun, Greg Daniels, Lee Eisenberg, Anthony Q. Farrell, Brent Forrester, Daniel J. Goor, Charlie Grandy, Mindy Kaling, Ryan Koh, Lester Lewis, Paul Lieberstein – Warren Lieberstein, BJ Novak, Michael Schur, Aaron Shure, Justin Spitzer, Gene Stupnitsky, Halsted Sullivan; NBC

Glee – Written by Ian Brennan, Brad Falchuk, Ryan Murphy; Fox
The Good Wife – Written by Angela Amato Velez, Corinne Brinkerhoff, Ted Humphrey, Dee Johnson, Todd E. Kessler, Michelle King, Robert King; CBS
Hung – Written by Colette Burson, Ellie Herman, Emily Kapnek, Brett C. Leonard, Dmitry Lipkin, Angela Robinson; HBO
Modern Family – Written by Paul Corrigan, Sameer Gardezi, Joe Lawson, Steven Levitan, Christopher Lloyd, Dan O’Shannon, Brad Walsh, Caroline Williams, Bill Wrubel, Danny Zuker; ABC
Nurse Jackie – Written by Taii K. Austin, Liz Brixius, Rick Cleveland, Evan Dunsky, Nancy Fichman, Liz Flahive, Jennifer Hoppe, Mark Hudis, John Hilary Shepherd, Linda Wallem, Christine Zander; Showtime

EPISODIC DRAMA – any length – one airing time
Broken, Part 1 and Part 2 (House)- Written by Russel Friend & Garrett Lerner & David Foster & David Shore; Fox
Come, Ye Saints (Big Love) – Written by Melanie Marnich; HBO
The Grown Ups (Mad Men) – Written by Brett Johnson and Matthew Weiner; AMC
Guy Walks into an Advertising Agency (Mad Men) – Written by Robin Veith and Matthew Weiner; AMC
I Will Rise Up (True Blood) – Written by Nancy Oliver; HBO
Phoenix (Breaking Bad) – Written by John Shiban; AMC

EPISODIC COMEDY – any length – one airing time
Apollo, Apollo (30 Rock) – Written by Robert Carlock; NBC
Broke (The Office) – Written by Charles Grandy; NBC
Chapter 1 (Eastbound & Down) – Written by Ben T. Best & Jody L. Hill & Danny McBride; HBO
Gossip (The Office) – Written by Paul Lieberstein; NBC
Pilot (Modern Family) – Written by Steven Levitan & Christopher Lloyd; ABC
Reunion (30 Rock) – Written by Matt Hubbard; NBC

LONG FORM – ORIGINAL – over one hour – one or two parts, one or two airing times
Georgia O’Keeffe – Written by Michael Cristofer; Lifetime
Grey Gardens, Teleplay by Michael Sucsy and Patricia Rozema, Story by Michael Sucsy; HBO
Pedro, Screenplay by Dustin Lance Black, Story by Paris Barclay & Dustin Lance Black; MTV

ANIMATION – any length – one airing time
The Burns and the Bees (The Simpsons) – Written by Stephanie Gillis; Fox
Eeny Teeny Maya, Moe (The Simpsons) – Written by John Frink; Fox
Gone Maggie Gone (The Simpsons) – Written by Billy Kimball & Ian Maxtone-Graham; Fox
Take My Life, Please (The Simpsons) – Written by Don Payne; Fox
Wedding for Disaster (The Simpsons) – Written by Joel H. Cohen; Fox

Real Time with Bill Maher, Head Writer: Billy Martin – Writers Scott Carter, Adam Felber, Matt Gunn, Brian Jacobsmeyer, Jay Jaroch, Chris Kelly, Bill Maher, Jonathan Schmock, Danny Vermont; HBO
Saturday Night Live, Head Writer: Seth Meyers – Writers Doug Abeles, James Anderson, Alex Baze, Jessica Conrad, James Downey, Steve Higgins, Colin Jost, Erik Kenward, Rob Klein, John Lutz, Lorne Michaels, John Mulaney, Paula Pell, Simon Rich, Marika Sawyer, Akiva Schaffer, John Solomon, Emily Spivey, Kent Sublette, Jorma Taccone, Bryan Tucker, Additional Sketch by Adam McKay, Andrew Steele; NBC
The Colbert Report, Head Writers: Barry Julien, Thomas Purcell, Writers Michael Brumm, Stephen Colbert, Richard Dahm, Robert Dubbin, Glenn Eichler, Peter Grosz, Peter Gwinn, Alon Jay Katsir, Frank Lesser, Opus Moreschi, Meredith Scardino, Allison Silverman, Max Werner; Comedy Central
The Daily Show with Jon Stewart, Head Writer: Steve Bodow, Writers Rory Albanese, Kevin Bleyer, Rich Blomquist, Tim Carvell – Wyatt Cenac, JR Havlan, David Javerbaum, Elliott Kalan, Josh Lieb, Sam Means, John Oliver, Jason Ross, Jon Stewart; Comedy Central
The Tonight Show with Conan O’Brien, Head Writer: Mike Sweeney – Writers Chris Albers, Jose Arroyo, Josh Comers, Dan Cronin, Kevin Dorff, Andres du Bouchet, Michael Gordon, Berkley Johnson, Brian Kiley, Rob Kutner, Todd Levin, Brian McCann, Guy Nicolucci, Conan O’Brien, Matt O’Brien, Andy Richter, Brian Stack, Andrew Weinberg; NBC

Meanwhile the American Film Institute has also announced its Most Outstanding TV Programs Of The Year, recognising creative ensembles as a whole—those both in front of and behind the camera:

The Big Bang Theory,
Big Love,
Friday Night Lights,
Mad Men,
Modern Family,
The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency,
Nurse Jackie,
Party Down,
True Blood,

Source: Variety

3 Responses

  1. @Stanchez, yes, Big Bang Theory, really. It’s well judged, cleverly written and brilliantly acted. You’d never guess it came from the same people that brought you 2.channel9 Men 🙂

    As for the blanket nominations for The Simpsons in the animation category… well, just proves the WGA voters don’t watch much animation. The writing on that show has been embarrassingly dreadful for many years now.

Leave a Reply