Australian Cinematographer of the Year Awards: winners

At the recent Australian Cinematographers Society National Awards Denson Baker ACS NZCS won the prestigious Cinematographer of the Year Millli Award.

He also won a Gold Tripod for his work on NZ miniseries The Luminaries Ep2 “The Place You Return.”

“I am indebted to my fellow Australian cinematographers for this incredible honour,” he said. “Milli recipients are some of the world’s most influential and inspiring cinematographers. So, it is beyond a privilege to be included alongside these very people who define great cinema — both in Australia, and on the world stage. Thank you to each and every member of the Australia Cinematographer’s Society. Your artistry and leadership is deeply appreciated.”

Ray Martin hosted the event at the National Gallery in Canberra on the weekend.

Hall of Fame Awards went to Geoffrey Hall ACS, Terrance Byrne ACS and Michael Edols ACS.

Other awards included: The Neil Davis International News award went to Timothy Myers ACS for Beat The Press: Journalism Under Attack; John Varga took the Current Affairs award for Children of Chernobyl; The Ron Taylor AM ACS Wildlife & Nature went to Jon Shaw ACS for Australia’s Ocean Odyssey S1Ep1 The Tropics.

ACS National President Ron Johanson OAM ACS said, “I would like to congratulate Denson on winning the Milli and also all the other award winners for their truly excellent work. Their commitment to the craft of cinematography is unparalleled and they are an inspiration to us all. I would also like to thank Fujifilm Fujinon for their unwavering support of our society and indeed all of our sponsors without whom these awards and much of the work the ACS does simply wouldn’t be possible.”

Full winners are here.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.