Who will present the Gold Logie?

Chris Hemsworth? John Wood? Andrew Denton? Sigrid Thornton? Who has top honours this Sunday?

There are still a few suprises being kept under wraps for Sunday’s Logie Awards.

They include the music act for the In Memoriam segment, and the person who is accepting Brian Walsh’s Hall of Fame (it would be a coup if Hugh Jackman, Deborra-Lee Furness or Nicole Kidman -all close to Walsh- were surprise appearances).

And then there is the honour of who will present the Gold Logie? It’s the biggest award of the night and always given to someone of note. Previously the likes of Dame Edna Everage, Sam Neill and Bert Newton. Even Mickey Rooney did it one year.

John Cleese is in the country, but is on stage in Melbourne on Sunday so that rules him out.

With Seven as host broadcaster for the first time 37 years, logic points to someone from Seven’s ranks or past.

Previous Gold winners from the Seven stable include John Wood, Lisa McCune (who told me yesterday it’s not her), Georgie Parker, Ray Meagher, Sam Johnson, Rebecca Gibney, Kate Ritchie, Steve Vizard, Rowena Wallace and Norman Gunston (Garry McDonald). Daryl Somers is also a Gold winner, albeit for his time at Nine.

But other prominent names might include Andrew Denton, Bruce McAvaney, or what about history-making news duo Rick Ardon and Susannah Carr?

Has Seven perhaps secured Chris Hemsworth to give out the Gold? It would be a great reminder of Home & Away‘s power as a talent factory…. other acting legends: Bryan Brown, Sigrid Thornton, Jack Thompson, Eric Bana, John Waters.

What is clear is that the Gold presenter is not someone who has been announced as Guest / Presenter.

So that rules out all of the following:

Sarah Abo, Dylan Alcott, Hamish Blake, Shaynna Blaze, Brooke Boney, Virginia Gay, Sylvia Jeffreys, Kate Langbroek, Ally Langdon, Flex Mami, Karl Stefanovic, Alison Bell, Rachael Blake, Matt Day, David Wenham, Sam Neill, Michelle Lim Davidson, Shaun Micallef, Tuuli Narkle, Zan Rowe, Leigh Sales, Christie Whelan-Browne, Patrick Brammall, Harriet Dyer, Coco Jack Gillies, Matt Nable, Pallavi Sharda, Catherine Van-Davies, Bryn Chapman Parish, Chloe Hayden, Ayesha Madon, James Majoos, Thomas Weatherall, Waleed Aly, Julie Goodwin, Sarah Harris, Peter Helliar, Dave Hughes, Ed Kavalee, Melissa Leong, Julia Morris, Yael Stone, Chrissie Swan, Luke Arnold, Guillaume Brahimi, Gina Chick, Charlie Albone, Edwina Bartholomew, Rickie-Lee, Ant Middleton, Adam Dovile, Johanna Griggs, Shane Jacobson, David Koch, Ray Meagher, Todd McKenney, Mel McLaughlin, Emily Symons, Claudia Karvan, Kick Gurry, Kween Kong, Danielle Laidley, Erik Thomson, Denise Drysdale, Kerri-Anne Kennerley, Rove McManus, Maggie Tabberer, Abbie Chatfield, Alan Fletcher, Celeste Barber, Colin Fassnidge, Emma Hamilton, Grant Denyer, Joel Creasey, Kat Stewart, Kyle Sandilands, Kylie Gillies, Larry Emdur, Lincoln Younes, Lynne McGranger, Mark Coles Smith, Marta Dusseldorp, Matt Shirvington, Mick Molloy, Natalie Barr, Osher Günsberg, Poh Ling Yeow, Rodger Corser, Samantha Armytage, Sophie Monk, Stephen Peacocke and Tony Armstrong.

6 Responses

  1. Good to hear that there are still some surprises for the night.

    Could it be simply be Sam Pang who will present the Gold, as he is host? Or will he come on to close the night once the winner has finished their acceptance speech?

    It is a good idea if a previous Gold Logie Winner presents the award.

    1. It’s not a US studios show, so producers said all presenters who fall under both MEAA and SAG-AFTRA had been confirmed. Of course a big name like Nicole or Chris Hemsworth may decide not to push the point …if they were even asked.

Leave a Reply