AACTA Audience Award nominees snub Pay TV and SBS

The inaugural AACTA Awards, the revamped AFI Awards, take place on January 31st and will include three Audience Awards voted through News Limited newspapers.

News Limited notes, “As part of the transformation of the AFI‘s annual awards night, our readers will vote to decide the winners of the Switched On Audience Choice Award for Best Television Program and Switched On Audience Choice Award for Best Performance in a Television Drama.”

It claims nominees for the best performance categories were chosen by “the nation’s leading producers.” Asher Keddie even appears twice.

16 TV program nominees were drawn from OzTAM figures, over the official ratings year, acknowledging excellence in drama, reality TV and mini-series.

But the three lists completely snub the Subscription Television sector.

That means acclaimed shows such as Cloudstreet and Killing Time are shunned. Grand Designs Australia is nowhere to be seen (and it even managed a Logie nod in the Popular categories).

SBS is also ignored. Sorry East West 101. Sorry Go Back To Where You Came From.

Australia’s Got Talent
Dancing With The Stars
Home and Away
My Kitchen Rules
Offspring Season 2
Paper Giants
Packed To The Rafters
Sea Patrol
The Block 2011
The Slap
The X Factor
Underbelly Razor
Wild Boys
Winner and Losers

Home and Away – Steve Peacocke
Offspring, Season 2 – Matthew Le Nevez
Packed To The Rafters – Erik Thomson
Paper Giants: The Birth of Cleo – Rob Carlton
Rescue Special Ops – Les Hill
Sea Patrol – Ian Stenlake
The Slap – Lex Marinos
Underbelly Razor – Jeremy Lindsay Taylor
Wild Boys – Daniel MacPherson
Winners & Losers – Tom Wren

Home And Away – Samara Weaving
Offspring, Season 2 – Asher Keddie
Packed To The Rafters – Rebecca Gibney
Paper Giants: The Birth of Cleo – Asher Keddie
Rescue Special Ops – Gigi Edgley
Sea Patrol – Lisa McCune

Let me put it bluntly: this list is rubbish.

I’ll just leave it at that.

AACTA Awards organisers need to sort this out in future if they want the “Audience Awards” to have any industry credibility.


  1. We live in a sad world where a groundbreaking documentary (Go back to where you came from) and drama (The Slap) is not included and the awful, hideous Packed to the Rafters is.

  2. David, you seem to have got some of these nominations wrong.

    In the female nominees, turns out Melissa George is nominated for The Slap, which is great news. Also nominated are
    Chelsie Preston Crayford – Underbelly Razor
    Melanie Vallejo – Winners & Losers
    Zoe Ventoura – Wild Boys

    Offspring, The Slap, Wild Boys, Sea Patrol, Home & Away, Rescue Crap Name aren’t among the nominees for best tv show. Which sucks because The Slap deserves it hands down but isn’t even nominated. Now i have to vote for a crap show

    These awards are terrible. AACTA are no better than the Logies.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.